Music Preference


Growing up, my home was always filled with music. Most of my sisters love to sing and listen to music. That explains why I love to sing and listen to music a lot. The house was always filled with the music of late ’90s and/or early 2000s boy bands.

Well, I grew up with girls so I guess it’s understandable that most of the songs I heard when I was a little kid where of boy bands (also Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera). I would remember myself standing on a chair and playfully dance to A1 tunes such as “Ready Or Not”. Yes, I still remember the chorus.

From then on, most of the music that I preferred where of from boy bands. I really liked pop and ballad and RnB. That was then until I came to Pisay.

Ever since my high school life, my music preference drastically changed. I always had a bad stereotype for rock and rock or live bands. Everytime I heard rock, I always pictured metal or hard rock with bunch of evil lyrics and evil costumes. Then my awesome friends and classmates got me listening to rock. Mostly, alternative rock. The first time I actually ever listened to rock was on my sophomore year. A classmate introduced me to All Time Low and I immediately liked them after hearing a couple of songs (i.e. Dear Maria, Count Me In, Six Feet Under The Stars, Stella, Remembering Sunday, Therapy, and Lullabies). My “lame” music preference was changed.

Then, I got to know about bands like Mayday Parade, Fall Out Boy, Paramore, The Script, Fun., Sleeping With Sirens, etc. My love for pop faded away, but not completely. There’s still a little part of me that still like pop, not as much as I used to. Mostly now I listen to punk/rock, alternative rock, indie rock. Then, I got myself listening to some country but only Rascal Flatts and Hunter Hayes. And of course, I shouldn’t forget about Ed Sheeran. I don’t know what genre he is but someone told me he’s folk pop. So I guess he’s that little part of pop inside me.

Most days, I sing songs of Mayday Parade, The Script, Fun., All Time Low, Rascal Flatts, Hunter Hayes, and Ed Sheeran. I noticed and realized that I am hardly singing any of those teen pop, bubblegum pop, whatever pop songs. (I still like ballad, sad songs and slow/mid-tempo songs.)

I’m actually glad that my classmates and friends helped me break my bad stereotype for rock and bands because I learned these our great music. Especially these years where pop music is just somehow trashy music. Hence I get disappointed when I learn that there are punk/rock bands that change to pop.

This change, I owe it all to my awesome friends and classmates.

 

 

Mayday Parade

My favourite Mayday Parade song. Also, I really like Valdosta EP. It’s so chill.

 

The Script

 

Fun.

 

All Time Low

I don’t know why but I’m not liking this band so much than I used to. Probably because of their “Don’t Panic” album which I’m not feeling so much. But I like Dirty Work, Nothing Personal, and So Wrong, It’s Right.

 

Rascal Flatts

Ah…This 🙂

 

Hunter Hayes

 

Ed Sheeran

Ed Sheeran is probably the only artist that I loved every one of his songs in his album. It’s kind of hard to choose with “The A Team”, “Kiss Me”, “Give Me Love”, etc. But this is my forever favourite.

Leave a Reply

