Strings


Note: I wrote this poem last night on a boat as I was on my way back home. It was written in a song kind of format.

When I was a child,

I played with cards.

Always alone,

But it was never hard

The theme of my youth

Is never same with everyone else,

Always a little different

As if for me, the world opened seven hells

The friends I think I have,

They never seem to stay

I learned to not let them too close

Or else there’d be a price to pay

The strings I used to strum

Played a beautiful melody

The first string broke

Now, it’s a different harmony

The keys I used to play

Were in great harmony

The keys went dull

Now, it’s a different melody

When I was a child,

I played alone in a room

The sky used to be clear

I’d say hi to the moon

I made a lot of people laugh

I made some people cry

It was never easy

But I always try

The friends I think I have,

They never seem to say

What they love or hate about me,

Or if in my lifetime, they would stay

The strings I used to strum

Played a beautiful melody

The second string broke

Now, it’s a different harmony

The drums I used to play

Were in perfect sync

The lugs went loose

Now, it plays a different beat

When I was a child,

I thought the world would be cool

For some part of it,

I think I was a fool

I thought I’d grew up to be

Someone I’d look up to as a child

But seeing what has become of me

I think the ride was a little too wild

The friends I think I have

Play a different game

I’m not familiar with it

But I think I stay the same

The strings I used to strum

Played a beautiful melody

The third string broke

Now, it’s a different harmony

The brass I used to play

Were in great harmony

The valves went dull

Now, it’s a different melody

When I am all grown up,

I wish I’d be better at life

I won’t have to resort to stupid things

Like stuffing myself with a knife

I’d look back to all this pain

When I’m all happy and gay

I would think I was foolish

When I’m content and grey

The friends I will have

Would share the laughter and pain

They would scream and rejoice

When I’m out of the rain

The strings I used to strum

Played a beautiful melody

I only have three strings left

But I’ll try to make great harmony

Leave a Reply

