Little Me


I was listening to Little Mix’s albums when their song “Little Me” started playing. I suddenly thought that if I could meet a younger me, particularly the 8-year old me, what would I tell her? You may wonder, why the 8-year old me. Well, I remember I was 8 years old when I looked at the world with a bright face and high hopes. I remember having all these dreams that I couldn’t wait to grow up to fulfill them. But now, none of those dreams even make sense to me anymore.

And this is what I would tell her:

I want you to know that life is going to be difficult for us. I don’t even know if we’re going to reach 21. But I want you to know that I tried. I’m still trying. I will might try. I wish I could tell you not to make the same mistakes I did but I don’t know if I even committed a mistake that lead us to this present state. But I’m sorry. I’m sorry for what I have done, for what I am doing and what I am now, and for what I might do. Take care and don’t be too hard on yourself.

Leave a Reply

